2015 World Juniors: Five Boston College Eagles Make Preliminary US Roster


The Boston College hockey team might not have its act together, but five of its players are set to play for the United States in the 2015 World Juniors.

More from Hockey

The Eagles will send freshman forward Alex Tuch, freshman defenseman Noah Hanifin, sophomore defensemen Steve Santini and Ian McCoshen, and sophomore goalie Thatcher Demko to Canada for the tournament, which will be co-hosted by Montreal and Toronto from late December through early January.

Former Eagles commit Sonny Milano will also be on Team USA. Boston University’s Jack Eichel is the only other representative of a Hockey East school on the 2015 World Juniors roster.

Additionally, Boston College assistant coach Mike Ayers, a coaching veteran on the international circuit, will be on the bench for Team USA.

Demko, Santini, and McCoshen are making their second appearances at the World Juniors. Alex Tuch and Noah Hanifin are making their first appearances. Notably, Santini is soon to come back from a wrist injury that has sidelined him since late October.

Miles Wood, a freshman forward at Noble and Greenough in Dedham, is a Boston College commit who has also made the roster for the first time.

The loss of these five players should only have a minimal impact on the Eagles. If Team USA makes it to the medal rounds, it would only affect the January 2 game against Brown and the January 3 game against Dartmouth. Everyone will be back for the January 9 game at Northeastern.

Though the team they play on now has struggled, there is no denying the talent Boston College hockey has on its roster. Team USA has recognized it and rewarded five of our players for their individual efforts, and there is quite a lot of Boston College on the 2015 roster. Congratulations to them and best of luck to our American brothers as they seek a gold medal.

The US team will play its first 2015 World Juniors game the day after Christmas at the Bell Centre in Montreal at 3pm Eastern; their opponent will be Finland.