Boston College Football Countdown: 7 Days to Go


You’re all aware that this time next week, the Boston College football season starts, right? Okay, good.

Who Wears 7 Now

Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

Spiffy Evans, WR, junior

Evans is listed as a wide receiver for the Eagles, and he has started there alongside Alex Amidon, but he’s actually done his best work on special teams. As a kick returner last season, he had an 82-yard punt return for a touchdown against Maine and heading into this year, he was named to Phil Steele’s preseason All-America third-team and All-ACC first team as a punt returner. Evans will appear in every game this season if healthy and will most likely retain his role as the primary return man for the Eagles.

Notables Who Wore 7

Chase Rettig, QB, 2010-pres. Switched to #11.
Kevin Akins, DB, 2005-08. Appeared in 51 games.
Shawn Halloran, QB, 1983-86. Doug Flutie’s successor.

Hasselbecks Who Wore 7

Matt Hasselbeck, QB, 1994-97. Longtime Seahawks QB.
Tim Hasselbeck, QB, 1997-2000. Longtime NFL backup.
Nathanael Hasselbeck, CB, 2002-03. Transferred to UMass.

Leading The Way

Alex Amidon led all Boston College receivers and offensive players with seven touchdowns scored last year.

Lucky Seven

Dominique Williams had seven tackles last season in nine games.

Inadequate Seven

Boston College scored seven rushing touchdowns in 2012 — only four FBS teams had fewer.

Greatness in ’07

Anyone who has watched Boston College football for more than a few years remembers the magnificence that was my senior year on the Heights and the 2007 football season with which it coincided. That team won BC 11 games for the first time since 1940.

In Relevance To This Season

Boston College bookends the season with Villanova and Syracuse this year. It so happens that BC has held each to 7 yards passing in the past — Villanova in 1964 and Syracuse in 1973. Those tie for fifth-fewest passing yards ever allowed by BC in a single game.

In case you were wondering, Villanova and Syracuse also tied for “first” in that honor, both being held to no passing yards (Nova 1977; Syracuse 1978) by the Eagles.